NURSE CAROL, MY SAVIOR

nurse

She did not know me from a hole in the wall, and she made the mistake of attempting to assume she knew who I was.  Bad Mistake!

Have you ever thought who a nurse really was and what do they actually do.

Nurses care for patients in the following ways:

  • Nurses help bring babies into the world, and they take care of new moms before and after childbirth.
  • Nurses help sick and injured people get better, and they help healthy people stay healthy.
  • Nurses perform physical examinations.
  • Nurses give medications and treatments ordered by doctors.
  • Nurses are concerned with the emotional, social, and spiritual conditions of their patients.
  • Nurses teach and counsel patients, as well as family members, and explain what they can expect during the recovery process.
  • Nurses provide health care teaching and counseling in the community.
  • Nurses observe, assess, evaluate, and record patients’ conditions and progress, and they communicate patient condition information to doctors and other members of the health care team.
  • Nurses help patients and families determine the best mix of health and social services – hospice, home care, rehabilitation, physical therapy, and others.
  • Nurses design and complete quality assurance activities to ensure appropriate nursing care.
  • Nurses help terminally ill patients die with dignity, and they help family members deal with dying and death.

(Used from: http://www.smc.edu/AcademicPrograms/HealthSciences/Nursing/Pages/)

Let’s face it nurses are the main people that run our care when we are in a hospital.  Doctors have so many patients that they have to see, but the nurses are their eyes and ears when they are not around and make crucial decisions on your care in a drop of a dime.  They can not hesitate to react and they always need to be ready for the unpredictable.

During my lovely stay in the ICU, I had a nurse that I will never forget.  Her name was Carol, Nurse Carol, Nurse Ratchet.  She was middle aged, old enough to be a grandmother, and you could tell she has been in the profession for awhile.  She was good at her job and she took pride in it.  Me, I could care less.  It was all about me lying in that bed in the ICU that I desperately wanted out of.  I wanted my cat, and that was the bottom line!!!

Nurse Carol became my biggest advocate, my savior, who held my future in her hands.  Now that she was awake she did not realize what she was dealing with.  Unfortunately, I a not the nicest of all people when I am in the hospital.  I always want out and I always want someone around me.  I hate being alone.  I want things done my way, when I want them, not on someone’s else’s schedule.

Looking back at the whole situation today, I realize that I was not nice.  Why was I so mean to the person that had to change me 14 times in one day?  That had to turn me in my bed every time she had to change the sheets?  Who sat there to feed me, when I could not reach my mouth?  Who listened to me complain about everything and everyone (including her)?  Who kept me company when no one else was around?  Who put up with me when I was yelling at her “TEACHER!  TEACHER!  COME HERE TEACHER! (I must have been on some good drugs)?

However, Nurse Carol always had a smile on her face, and the patience of a saint.  She even put up with me when I was yelling at her “TEACHER!  TEACHER!  COME HERE TEACHER! (I must have been on some good drugs)?  I will never forget her and all she has done.

I am attempting to make plans to visit her very shortly to thank her for all she did for me.  Her memory was not a good one when I left the ICU, but I want to show her who she really saved.  To this, I am beyond grateful for her as a person and being there for me.

Thank You Carol!!!

9 comments

  1. Through my spinal cord injury and my husband’s cancer I’ve always said “If you want to be rushed, talk to a doctor. If you want someone who really knows what’s going on and cares about it, talk to a nurse.”

    Like

  2. When I had my son, I had a nurse, I could’ve cursed up and down,but I’m a Christian and highly medicated she lived,lol. But my next nurse I loved her she was like 80, I wanted to adopt her and take her home she was so sweet. It all depends on their shifts and their moods.

    Like

Leave a Reply

