PTSD, Anxiety, Depression (oh my)

p4

As promised I would like to talk about PTSD, anxiety, and depression.  Many of these mental health diseases are not completely understood correctly.  Many of you have read my first blog entry where I talked about my story and what I am going through.  My story has multiple layers and continues daily.  However, I am a fortunate recipient of having all of the diseases mentioned above and trust me they are not fun.  Many people do not believe these disease are lush.

Today, I am going to do a little thing different as there is so much information out there about all 3 of these.  I have searched the internet and picked the best explanations and have posted them below as pictures.  Tomorrow, I will talk more about my struggles.  My wish is that some people can take something new out of what is below.  The best way to help someone with a disease is to be educated.

What is PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)

252426

What is ANXEITY (A mental health disorder characterized by feelings of worry, anxiety, or fear that are strong enough to interfere with one’s daily activities)

p223

What is DEPRESSION (Depression (major depressive disorder or clinical depression) is a common but serious mood disorder)

2827

I am interested to see what you just took away from any of this or any questions that you may have.  Please feel free to comment below.  I am no professional, I am just an average person who has been blessed (note sarcasm) with all 3 of these.  Please remember I do not receive any credit for the slides or pictures as I took them all from the internet.

Until tomorrow……

p5

 

20 comments

  1. I teach elementary school aged children with all of these mental health issues. It is so sad that many people feel these are not illnesses, just personality flaws or character flaws. The daily struggle for these kiddos is painful to watch and can be both extremely frustrating and extraordinarily rewarding to teach. All on the same day sometimes. 💗 Thank you for trying to help people be aware.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve all of these and Bipolar or as the old name goes “manic depressive” I don’t chose the diagnoses and I don’t chose the medicines. But I’ve a great PCP that takes care of me. And a great therapist I can talk to. People shouldn’t label us because we’ve invisible diseases they can’t see, it would be like telling someone with glasses to go drive without their glasses. Agreed?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve dealt with panic disorder, and it’s definitely no fun. I look forward to hearing more about your experiences and thoughts on mental illness. Glad you’re talking about it. It’s therapeutic to write about it (it is for me), and you can help others who are struggling.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I feel like there is such stigma associated with mental health issues such as these especially when a man has them. Things like anxiety and depression get played down a lot (“oh, what are you afraid of? just man up!”, “oh, you’re feeling down? why don’t you just go do something you like, it’ll make you feel better”).

    To be honest, I’ve never even considered that a heart attack could bring about anxiety, PTSD or depression. But then again, it makes a lot of sense.

    Thanks for writing about this, education is the first step in reducing (and eventually, eliminating) the stigma.

    Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My girlfriend has schizoaffective disorder and seeing her anxiety and depression symptoms laid out so bare is sort of chilling. And it made me go and give her a hug. I see her struggle and fight everyday and she’sthe single strongst person I know. I can’t imagine what it’s like fighting your own mind every single damn day

    Like

  6. This is my first time visiting your blog. I enjoyed your post today. I was diagnosed two years ago with PTSD and GAD. Last year I was diagnosed with recent onset Bipolar Type II. I love finding people who are having a voice, especially a positive voice, about mental health and the struggles and richness it can provide in our lives. I look forward to reading more from you. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are welcome so much! I try to do what I can! If I may ask can I ask what GAD stands for. I never heard of those letters before. I hope you come back and read often. Hang in there you are not alone! -Bruce

      Like

Leave a Reply

